Computer Setup: Quickly Install your Applications Using Ninite.com

I recently installed Windows 7 on my laptop and came across a pretty useful service provided by Ninite.com. It provides a list of free / opensource / trial software which you can choose from, and it generates an installer which pulls the latest copies of these tools from the net to your computer, silently installing them in the background. This tool saved me about an hour, given I didn’t have to source, download and manually install my applications. Highly recommended for setting up new machines, where you’d like to save some time, and don’t have a handy disk image:

Step 1: Pick your software

Select your desired applications

Step 2: Run the downloaded installer, customized based on your selected applications

Ninite.com customized application installer

Pretty straightforward, and definitely a really useful time saver.

Syd

Author: sylint

I'm a business analyst, working in Information Management and Information Technology. Technically, I'm a librarian, though I prefer to think of myself as professionally varied.

Leave a Reply

