Greening your PC: Granola

Miserware Granola In my younger days, I used to be most concerned with eeking out the maximum performance capable from my machine. Those days are over, given my current computer puts out enough heat on stock settings to heat my room during the winter. With that in mind, I’ve been toying around with a free application called Granola, provided by Miserware, which promises to reduce computer (CPU) power consumption.

The software is presently available for the Windows and Linux operating systems. I’ve used it on both, and it seems to work rather well. I can’t really see any performance impact while using my machine, and it seems to be saving power. Miserware promises an energy decrease of about 10 – 35%. On my laptop, this seems rather handy, given limited battery life. If you’d like more information on how it works, here’s the link. If my machine isn’t using 100% of its processing power all the time, why not save some electricity?

While my personal desktop PC power saving may not seem all that impressive, if you imagine the aggregate, of people saving power using programs such as this, the impact can be much greater. If your office has twenty computers which are on a minimum of eight hours a day, you can probably reduce your aggregate PC power consumption a fair bit. As far as I can tell, there’s no OSX version of this software just yet, but one is in the works.

Save some trees, check it out,

Syd

P.S. Useful reviews over @ thegreenertruth and lifehacker.

Author: sylint

I'm a business analyst, working in Information Management and Information Technology. Technically, I'm a librarian, though I prefer to think of myself as professionally varied.

Leave a Reply

